Aller au contenu

English presentation N° 1

Laurine.V

Messages recommandés

Hello! 

I'm studying English at univesity and I have to write a course. I do that but I'd like someone with a good English level to correct my work. 

I think that there are some tense and grammar mistakes.

Thank you in advance.

Here is my work 

Stereotype is a social psychology’s concept. We cannot speak about stereotypes without speaking about social categorization and prejudices

1) At first, we are going to talk about categorization:  

The categorization is a concept which belongs to the cognitive psychology. To have a better understanding of the world, we organize and we tidy up information. Objects are classified by categories according to their similarities.

In social psychology, categorization is applied to the people. We categorize according to the age, the sex... This process of categorization is on the base of stereotypes. For humans, we don’t just make a simple categorization. We are going to give to every social group member, the characteristics of the social group.

After categorization…. The stereotype:

We categorize people and objects according to the idea that all elements of a category have the same nature. Here is the foundation of stereotypes.

Lippman introduced the term « stereotype » to behavior scientist in 1922. For him, stereotype is a kind of world map which allows us to be directed social reality.

After that, a lot of scientists worked on this notion. Leyens gave a famous definition of stereotype: according to him, « Stereotypes are shared faiths concerning personal characteristics of a social group »

Stereotypes are spontaneous tendencies to generalize. Moreover, they have a consensual dimension.

They are two types of stereotypes:

-       Auto-stereotypes which are stereotypes on our social group.

-       Hétérostéréotypes which are stereotypes on the other groups.